Table of Contents
Jade University of Applied Sciences offers movingimage as a video streaming portal for teaching videos.
You can use video hosting to provide videos for teaching at Jade University of Applied Sciences. Organisational units can also use it for video tutorials.
- the upload limit per file in Moodle does not apply
- Hosting on servers in Germany, provider ISO 27 001 certified
Notes on use
For good picture and sound quality, videos should be uploaded in high quality, because:
- The video hosting portal automatically transforms into delivery formats.
Very long videos such as lecture recordings should be deleted after two weeks at the latest, because:
- The costs for the video hosting portal are calculated according to file length (not file size).
Share videos in moodle
You can find out how to make videos available in moodle in the wiki section Making videos available.
Embed videos on a web page
Use the Videohosting of the Jade University of Applied Sciences to upload videos to the video portal and then make them available.
- Get activated: E-mail to Moodlesupport.
- You will receive access to the video hosting and log in.
In the video portal, you will receive your own channel (folder) to which only you have access, in addition to the administration. The name of the channel is your university e-mail address.
Working groups can be formed in the video portal in order to have joint access to uploaded videos. Additional channels are set up for this purpose, e.g. “Department xy”.
Please contact Moodlesupport if you wish to set up a working group.
Automatic deletion of videos from the video portal
Members of departments can use video hosting to provide videos for teaching at Jade University of Applied Sciences.
Organisational units can also use it for video tutorials. It is not, however, a storage medium for retention.
Videos that are not actively used are removed again - after consultation. Uploaded videos are marked for deletion after 6 months (i.e. moved to the “recycle bin”) and finally deleted after 30 days.
This setting can be overridden by users. In addition, you can delete your videos yourself in the video portal.