Translations of this page:

User Tools

Site Tools


en:moodle:course:export:start

Save course content

An automatic course backup is created overnight of all moodle courses when there are changes. The last three versions are kept. These automatic backups serve as a backup in case of emergency and can be used by admins to restore course content and participant data. The backups are also deleted when courses are deleted.

Course backups by course owners

When course owners back up courses, they do not back up user data, such as test results, submitted assignments, forum posts, polls, content in wikis, etherpads, glossaries, or databases. Some of these activities have their own backup functions, see result backup.

Use course backups to reuse a course or parts of it in other Moodle systems. Course owners (role “Teacher”) can save courses in whole or in parts. Such course backups contain set up activities with the settings made as well as materials, but NOT work results or contributions from participants.

Click the cogwheel at the top to open the settings. Select Backup: The Backup Settings overview appears and guides you through the process. In the backup settings, select the items you want to back up. Apply the selection. (The “Include enrolled users” selection is not available). Click the Next button.

You can select which content to include in the backup. Individual activities (without user data) can also be backed up and reused. “Next”. You will see an overview and can customize the file name of the backup (the numbers represent the course ID and the date and time of the backup). Click on the “Execute backup” button. After a successful backup you will see the message “Your backup has been completed successfully”.

The backup section for each course is currently hidden for course owners to prevent accidental deletion of course backups. Contact Moodle support if you need a backup file.

Save results - student work remotely

  • Assignment - download submissions
  • Test - archive results
  • Forum - save posts
  • Glossary - save entries
  • Wiki
  • Database - Save entries

Export/import course content

With “Import” you can insert course content or individual activities and materials from one course room into another course room (as long as source and target course are in the same Moodle system).
Enrolled participants and their data (forum posts, submitted assignments, etc.) are not imported.

You need the role “Teacher” in the target and source course.

1. Start in the target course. There, select the source course and the content you want to import.
2. Open the (possibly newly ordered) target Moodle course and click the cogwheel in the upper right corner. In the Settings menu, select Import: The “Import” overview opens.
If necessary, use the search function to find the course you want to use for the import. Select the course and confirm your selection with “Next”.
3. You will now see the Save settings. Decide if you want to include blocks, activities and filters (default = yes).
On the page that appears next, you have the option to define exactly which parts of the old course you want to import. Confirm your selection with “Next”.
4. An overview of your selection will then be displayed. Select “Perform import”. After that the actual import takes place, which is completed after a few moments with the message: “Import complete”. Click Next to enter the course.
5. Click on “Next” and you will be back to the course main page.

If you have entered your own subject headings, they will not be imported. If you have created many and/or extensive headings, you should choose the way “backup course - restore course”.

Saved items will be restored to the new course room in the same subject area (e.g. subject area 3). If necessary, move them afterwards (turn on editing, drag and drop).

en/moodle/course/export/start.txt · Last modified: 2022/06/20 14:35 by hellwig